The town is home to the Sundgau Museum and the Rhine Centre for Contemporary Art which are open throughout the year.
St Morand Priory, Notre Dame Church, the ancient walls of the city and other medieval remains reflect the cultural and architectural diversity to be found there. Many guided tours for groups and individuals are available on request. You will also find a tourist map with QR codes to discover the city on your own, available from the Tourist information Centre.
A modern town with an original spirit and strong dynamic commercial base, part of the association Altkirch Traditions, it also organizes many varied cultural events including the Enchanted Forest in December, the Short Film Festival in spring, the Festival of Music and Sound'Go Festival in summer, concerts and other happenings supported by lively local associations.
Free guided tours of the city are held each summer and you can also discover Altkirch and its surroundings through small hikes.
- Around the Schweighof Breitholz 10 km / 3h
- St Morand 5.5 km / 2h
- The heights of Altkirch 8 km / 2:30
For families, there is a fun ride to discover Altkirch (4 to 12 years old)!
On Thursday morning from 7am to 1pm, big market throughout the town center
Saturday morning from 7am to 12pm, small farmers' market, Place Xavier Jourdain
St. Catherine's Fair: the last Thursday in November, big fair throughout the town
For families, there is a fun ride to discover Altkirch (from 4 years to 12 years)!
On Thursday morning from 7am to 1pm, there is a large market spread throughout the town center
Saturday morning from 7am to 12pm, a small farmers' market, at Place Xavier Jourdain
St. Catherine's Fair: the last Thursday in November, a big fair throughout the city
Between the foothills of the Vosges and the foothills of the Jura, in the Belfort Gap, there is a village nestled on the slopes of a hill in the Largue valley. Dannemarie is the capital of the canton and plays a leading role and shines out over the Porte d'Alsace with its dynamic trade and numerous services to the population.
A small town huddled at the foot of a castle, the borough of the powerful Counts of Ferrette is nestled in the foothills of the Alsatian Jura... This town with a prestigious past will charm you with its narrow and romantic paths that lead to the lofty ruins of Ferrette Castle and the mysterious cave of the Dwarfs, the site of a famous legend.
Everything in the town refers to the history of the Counts of Ferrette who founded the most powerful seigneury, reigning with quasi-sovereign status for nearly two centuries during the Middle Ages. Today, Prince Albert II of Monaco still bears the title of Count of Ferrette because of his Grimaldi ancestor's marriage in 1777 with the heiress of the Mazarins.
Discover this charming little town, its castle, its church and its listed town hall, the Tourist Information Centre, numerous hiking trails, and its hidden Dwarfs' Cave at the foot of an impressive limestone gorge.
Things to do:
- Ferrette Walk, the castle and the Cave of the Dwarfs: 4.5 Km / 2h30. Download Topoguide here
- Discovery tour of the old town and castle: allow between 90 minutes and 2 hours and wear appropriate footwear.
- Castle visit: 45 / 60 min. Pedestrian access 15 minutes from the Tourist Information Centre car park. Good shoes required. Hiking guide to discover the castles of the Alsatian Jura: € 3
- Night Tour of the city and castle, every Wednesday evening during the summer.
- Access to Rossberg Panoramic Tower: 30/45 min round trip from the parking area of the camper van site in Ferrette. Possibility of a larger circuit from Ferrette or Old Ferrette.
- A fun walk is offered to families via the ""Trail and Treasure"" smartphone application.
Crossing this village, which parallels the Ill river, reveals a unique collection of architecture, mostly dating from the 18th and 19th centuries.
Grentzingen is a very beautiful floral village that has been awarded three flowers. We recommend you stroll through the village streets to admire the well-renovated half-timbered houses (from various periods and built with diverse techniques) by proceeding from the high street near the railway to Rue Willer which circles the church via Rue de Ruederbach.
For a short period from 1798 to 1804, the neighbouring villages of Grentzingen and Ruederbach had at least five carpenters. Their buildings were conceived, in the spirit of 18th century rural architecture, with an independent frame for each level of dwelling and symmetrically positioned wood. The timber-framed house was traditionally regarded as mobile personal property as it was pegged together and so could be dismantled and reassembled in another location.
A typical Sundgau village which has added the award of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries and the interprofessional Office of Fruit, Vegetables and Horticulture to its long list of prizes, Hirtzbach is proud of its four flowers. Recognized on a national and a European level for the quality of its blooms, it is undoubtedly a good place to live. Follow the course of the stream (the Hirschbach) and you will find beautiful half-timbered houses and an alley of 100-year-old lime trees. While strolling in Charles de Reinach Park, you can see the last icehouse in the Sundgau area, amazing vegetation and Reinach Castle. St. Afra Chapel and the parish church are full of artistic and architectural remains including a painting by Gutzwiller, a fresco by Limido (at the church) and a 15th century pieta (in the chapel). Don't miss the Festival of Nature, a big two-day street party during the first weekend in August which brings the entire village to life and attracts around 10 000 people to Hirtzbach for exhibitions, craft stalls, street entertainment, folk music and fireworks to close the festivities.
llfurth is the capital of a municipal community of 10 villages. With its location close to the Mulhouse and Altkirch Agglomeration, the Sundgau capital allows its residents to combine the advantages of the city with the charm of the countryside.
The town has a very rich social fabric and actively participates in various cultural events such as Heritage Days in September and Pot'Arts.
Things to see and do:
- Pot'Arts is a cultural event held in September every year since 2002. Almost 10 nights of high quality shows are presented over a two-week period.
- Burnkirch Church is a 15th century church which was founded in the 8th century and contains beautiful frescoes in the chancel plus the reclining effigy of Frederick of Burnkirch, who died in 1376 defending Altkirch during the foray of English raiders into the Sundgau area.
- The old 16th century bell tower, the interior of which is completely covered with frescoes.
- St. Brice Chapel on the Britzgyberg. The chapel, probably founded in the 16th century, was demolished during the French Revolution and rebuilt in two phases in the early 20th century. Recent restoration makes for a very pleasant walk. The Britzgyberg is also known as a proto-historic site.
- The German military cemetery in Illfurth was reorganized in 1920 and 1931 and contains, in the shadow of an imposing eagle, nearly 2,000 German soldiers, including the grave of Lt. Mayer, the first German casualty of the conflict who was killed on August 2, 1914 at Joncherey.
- The Haulenwald signposted trail presents the various structures that still exist near Burnkirch, on the heights of Tagolsheim and Heidwiller, through educational panels. 6.5 km / two and a half hours
Obermorschwiller is a village with 430 inhabitants and has rich and varied architecture, built between the 16th century and the 19th century, some of which benefited from restoration in the 1970s undertaken by the ""Maison Paysanne d'Alsace"" association (which was behind the Ecomuseum in Ungersheim). In 2012, under the supervision of Marc Grodwohl and the University of Upper Alsace, a new study of the church (which is flanked by two splendid 300-year-old lime trees) and village houses led to the establishment of an architectural heritage trail. This village has retained its typical Sundgau rural architecture.
Things to do:
- The municipality has set up a trail to display its architectural heritage. A booklet proposes a walk through streets adorned with explanatory panels
- Parking space available behind the town hall, on Rue de l'Eglise or on the High Street next to the school.
Oltingue was the most populous of the 33 villages of the seigneury of Ferrette before the Thirty Years War. The village has retained the traces of ancient terrace cultivation which mostly involved vines due to the dry conditions resulting from the location of the village at the foot of a hill in the lee of breezes. The Ill river crosses the town which is rich in places to visit.
- The Oltingue Farming Museum: created in the 1970s, it presents collections gathered by Fr Etienne Bilger (1901-1980) in a timbered farmhouse and provides an understanding of how people in the Sundgau area lived before the rapidly changing countryside of the 20th century.
- The church of Saint-Martin-des-Champs: the former mother church of three villages, a listed building dating from the 14th century, it boasts 7th and 8th century tombs and pre-1350 frescoes representing characters from the Old Testament and saints.
- The Church of St. Martin: Built in 1824 by the bailiff of Ferrette, who thought the Saint-Martin-des-Champs church too small and above all too far away, it contains a Callinet organ listed as a historical monument in 1973. There is also magnificent interior furniture.
- The St Brice Chapel: first mentioned in 1361, partially rebuilt in 1669, it is isolated and is situated in a clearing 3 km northeast of Oltingue village. St Brice was once a renowned centre of pilgrimage, in 1576 appearing on the map of Alsace under the name of St. Brixi. In 1567 a hermitage stood near the chapel, now replaced by a farmhouse that attracts many tourists in summer.
- The big tree trail from the carpark of St Brice's Chapel
The floral village of Friesen, in the Valley of the Largue, has maintained fifty wood-framed buildings, the construction dates of which range from 1497 to 1878: corbelled houses, traditional farms, fountains, monobloc farms, timbered houses, forges, etc, are all on show.
A guidebook, available from the Tourist Information Centre proposes an easy walk through the ancient floral streets to discover this unique heritage including the oldest known half-timbered house in Alsace.
The clever geometry of the traditional timbered Sundgau house, the result of a construction technique developed over five centuries by the guild of carpenters, reveals itself here. The old farmhouses, adapted to modern life, have retained all their charm while geraniums provide the final touch to the picture.
The village of Winkel is best known as the site of the source of the river Ill, the backbone of Alsace, which, after a journey of 217 km, flows into the Rhine north of Strasbourg.
The village is located in the mountains of Glaserberg, 575m above sea level, and enjoys a rich and well-preserved natural setting. In winter, two snowshoe trails and Nordic trails are marked out.
- The 18th century St. Lawrence Church houses two listed baroque side altars from the old Lucelle Abbey.
- The source of the river Ill
- Warth Chapel: a small shrine carved partially into the rock, erected in the 14th century and linked to the tragic end of the knight Rudolph Warth
Things to do
- The Moroccan Trail is a route taking in Maginaux line structures built before 1939. Download the topoguide.
- Beech Alley consists of a line of remarkable beech trees. A 6 km signposted circuit with a 160m gradient, a two and a half hour walk starting from the Charrière car park.
- Snowshoe tours and signposted Nordic ski routes.