Saint Brice Chapel
The Saint-Brice chapel, attested in 1361, rises on a wooded hill at an altitude of 470 meters. It is located, isolated, 3 km north-east of the village of Oltingue in a clearing. Archaeologists have found around the site a Neolithic entrenchment, witness to the presence of man in these regions more than 4000 years ago.
It was partially rebuilt in 1669; Formerly Saint-Brice was a famous place of pilgrimage, appearing in 1576 on the map of Alsace under the name of Saint-Brixi
55 iron ex-votos were discovered in 1910 in the attic and are now kept at the Strasbourg Archaeological Museum; in 1567 a hermitage stood near the chapel, now replaced by a farmhouse which attracts many tourists in fine weather.
A 3km walking circuit, lth big trees trail, allows you to take a pleasant walk under forest cover to discover in particular the largest beech in the canton of Solothurn.
- By a dirt road
- At the edge of the forest
- Religious site
- catholic site
- Bar / Bar