Events calendar Interactive map

The circuit of old houses and built heritage of Friesen

The flowered village of Friesen, in the Vallée de la Largue, has conserved around fifty half-timbered buildings, the construction of which spanned from 1497 to 1878: corbelled houses, traditional farms, fountains, monobloc farms, houses of short timber housing, forges ... put on a show.

A guide, available at the Tourist Office, offers you an easy walk through preserved and richly flowered streets to discover this unique heritage, including the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.

The skilful geometry of the traditional sundgauvian half-timbered house, the result of a construction technique developed over five centuries by the corporation of carpenters, is revealed there. The old farm buildings, adapted to modern life, have retained all their old-world charm and the geraniums put the finishing touches on the picture.

Description

Duration: 2h
Type of tour, itinerary: pedestrian
Specific target audience
  • Families
  • Groups
  • School groups
Type of trail / circuit
  • historic / heritage / religious trail
Accepted animals :
admis
Short comment:
Discovery of this unique heritage characterized by the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.
Restaurant on site:
  • restaurant

To download

Schedules

Reception hours:
14 H

Contact

49 Main Street
68580 Friesen
WebsiteSee website

Information

SUNDGAU TOURIST OFFICE
30 rue Charles de Gaulle
68130 Altkirch
CallContact by phone
E-mailContact by mail
Altitude (m):
350
Distance (km) to the nearest station:
13

In images, in pictures

Guide to the Friesen Old Houses and Built Heritage Circuit

The Sundgau on the Networks

Top of page