The village of Friesen and its heritage circuit
The flowery village of Friesen, in the Largue Valley, has preserved around fifty half-timbered buildings, the construction of which spanned from 1497 to 1878: corbelled houses, traditional farms, fountains, monoblock farms, short-timbered houses, forges… perform.
A guide, available at the Tourist Office, offers an easy walk through preserved and richly flowered streets to discover this unique heritage, including the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.
The clever geometry of the traditional Sundgauvian house made of half-timbering, the fruit of a construction technique developed over five centuries by the corporation of carpenters is revealed. The old farmhouses, adapted to modern life, have retained all their charm of yesteryear and the geraniums put the finishing touches on the table.