Oltingue was the most populated of the 33 villages of the seigneury of Ferrette before the Thirty Years' War. The village has kept the imprint of the old terraced cultivation which gave pride of place to the vines favored by a dry climate attributed to the situation of the village, at the foot of a hill, in the blind spot of atmospheric currents. The Ill crosses the town with many sites to discover.
To see :
- The Peasant Museum of Oltingue : created in the 70s, it presents, in a half-timbered peasant house, the collections assembled by Father Etienne Bilger (1901-1980) and enables us to understand how the Sundgauvians lived before the rapid development of the countryside in the XNUMXth century.
- The church of Saint-Martin-des-Champs : former mother church of three villages, listed as a Historic Monument and dating from the fourteenthe century, it contains tombs of the VIIe century and VIIIe century highlights and frescoes prior to 1350 depicting characters from the Old Testament and saints.
- Saint Martin's church : Built in 1824 by the bailiff of Ferrette, who found the Saint-Martin-des-Champs church too small and above all too far away, it contains a Callinet organ classified as a Historic Monument in 1973. Magnificent interior furniture is also to be discovered.
- The Saint-Brice Chapel : attested in 1361, partially rebuilt in 1669, it is located, isolated, 3 km north-east of the village of Oltingue in a clearing. Formerly Saint-Brice was a famous place of pilgrimage, appearing in 1576 on the map of Alsace under the name of Saint-Brixi. In 1567 a hermitage stood near the chapel, now replaced by a farmhouse which attracts many tourists in fine weather.
- Lth big trees trail from the parking lot of the St Brice chapel