Events calendar Interactive map
Friesen half-timbered house

The village of Friesen and its heritage circuit

The flowery village of Friesen, in the Vallée de la Largue, has preserved around fifty half-timbered buildings, the construction of which spanned from 1497 to 1878: corbelled houses, traditional farms, fountains, monobloc farms, short timber houses, forges… put on a show.

A guide, available at the Tourist Office, offers you an easy walk through preserved and richly flowered streets to discover this unique heritage, including the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.

The skilful geometry of the traditional sundgauvian half-timbered house, the result of a construction technique developed over five centuries by the corporation of carpenters, is revealed there. The old farm buildings, adapted to modern life, have retained all their old-world charm and the geraniums put the finishing touches on the picture.


Consult the flyer here.

Contact

23 rue de Lepuix
68580 Friesen
CallContact by phone
E-mailContact by mail

Information

SUNDGAU TOURIST OFFICE
13 Castle Street
68130 Altkirch
CallContact by phone
E-mailContact by mail

In images, in pictures

- © Half-timbered house of Friesen- © Half-timbered house of Friesen- © The oldest peasant house in Sundgau located in Friesen- © A beautiful restoration from the 1990s in Friesen

The Sundgau on the Networks

Top of page