Skip to main content

OT Sundgau

The circuit of old houses and built heritage of Friesen

The flowered village of Friesen, in the Vallée de la Largue, has conserved around fifty half-timbered buildings, the construction of which spanned from 1497 to 1878: corbelled houses, traditional farms, fountains, monobloc farms, houses of short timber housing, forges ... put on a show.

A guide, available at the Tourist Office, offers you an easy walk through preserved and richly flowered streets to discover this unique heritage, including the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.

The skilful geometry of the traditional sundgauvian half-timbered house, the result of a construction technique developed over five centuries by the corporation of carpenters, is revealed there. The old farm buildings, adapted to modern life, have retained all their old-world charm and the geraniums put the finishing touches on the picture.

Description

altitude (m)
350
Duration:
2h
Difficulty level :
For all
Short comment
Discovery of this unique heritage characterized by the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.
Specific target audience
Families
Groups
School groups
Type of tour, itinerary
pedestrian
Trail/circuit type (to be removed)
Historical/heritage/religious trail
Circuit themes
History
Urban
Short comment
Discovery of this unique heritage characterized by the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.

Hours

Opening hours
14 H

Prices

Accessibility tools