Events calendar Interactive map

Towns and villages to visit

Town
10 cards
  • Saint Martin des Champs Oltingue

    Saint Martin des Champs Oltingue

  • Half-timbered house Oltingue

    Half-timbered house Oltingue

Oltingue was the most populated of the 33 villages of the seigniory of Ferrette before the Thirty Years War. The village has kept the imprint of the old terraced culture which gave pride of place to the vine, favored by a dry climate attributed to the situation of the village, at the foot of a hill, in the dead angle of atmospheric currents. The Ill crosses the town, rich in numerous sites to discover.

To see :

- The Peasant Museum of Oltingue : created in the 70s, it presents in a half-timbered peasant house collections collected by Father Etienne Bilger (1901-1980) and allows us to understand how the Sundgauviens lived before the rapid evolution of the countryside in the XNUMXth century.

- The church of Saint-Martin-des-Champs : former mother church of three villages, classified as a Historic Monument and dating from the XNUMXthe century it contains tombs of viie century and viiie century highlights and frescoes prior to 1350 depicting characters from the Old Testament and saints.

- Saint Martin's church : Built in 1824 by the bailiff of Ferrette, who found the Saint-Martin-des-Champs church too small and above all too far away, it contains a Callinet organ classified as a Historic Monument in 1973. Magnificent interior furniture is also to be discovered.

- The Saint-Brice Chapel : attested in 1361, partially rebuilt in 1669, it is located, isolated, 3 km northeast of the village of Oltingue in a clearing. Formerly Saint-Brice was a famous place of pilgrimage, appearing in 1576 on the map of Alsace under the name of Saint-Brixi. In 1567 a hermitage stood near the chapel, today replaced by a farm inn which attracts many tourists in fine weather.

- Lth big trees trail from the parking lot of St Brice chapel


Oltingue
  • Grentzingen (Illtal)

    Grentzingen (Illtal)

  • Grentzingen (Illtal)

    Grentzingen (Illtal)

Crossing this village, parallel to the course of the Ill, allows you to discover a unique architectural ensemble dating mainly from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries.

Grentzingen is a very beautiful flowered village rewarded with a label of three flowers. We advise you to stroll through the streets of the village to admire these half-timbered houses, well renovated, of age and of various techniques, starting with the main railway street until the rue de Willer which surrounds the church. , without forgetting the rue de Ruederbach.

During a short period from 1798 to 1804, the neighboring villages of Grentzingen and Ruederbach had at least five carpenters. Their constructions were designed in the spirit of rural architecture of the XNUMXth century, with autonomous framework for each level of housing and symmetrically arranged wood. The half-timbered house was traditionally considered to be movable, because it was pegged, so it could be dismantled and reassembled in another location.

Illtal
  • City of Ferrette

    City of Ferrette

  • Medieval festival in Ferrette www.ferrette-medievale.org

    Medieval festival in Ferrette www.ferrette-medievale.org

Small city nestled at the foot of its castle, the city of the powerful Counts of Ferrette is nestled in the first foothills of the Alsatian Jura ... This city with a prestigious past will charm you with its narrow and romantic paths that lead to the haughty ruins of the castle of Ferrette and the mysterious Cave of the Dwarves where a famous legend is told.

Everything in this city refers to the history of the Counts of Ferrette who founded the most powerful of the seigneuries reigning in an almost sovereign state for almost two centuries in the Middle Ages. Today, Prince Albert II of Monaco still bears the title of Count of Ferrette due to the marriage of his ancestor Grimaldi in 1777 with the heiress of the Mazarins.

Come and discover this charming little town, his castle, its listed church and town hall, its Tourist Office, its many hiking trails without forgetting its Dwarven Cave hidden at the foot of an impressive limestone gorge.

To do :

- Ferrette, the castle and the Cave of the Dwarfs : 4,5 km / 2 hours. Topoguide to download here

- Discovery tour of the old town and the castle : allow 1 to 30 hours and bring good shoes.

- Castle visit: 45 / 60min. Pedestrian access 15 min from the parking lot of the Tourist Office. To be well fitted. Walking guide to discover the castles from the Alsatian Jura: 3 €

- Guided tour of the city and the castle, every Thursday at 16 p.m. in summer, from July 16 to August 6, 2020.

- Access to the Rossberg Panoramic Tower : 30/45 min round trip from the parking lot of the Ferrette motorhome area. Possibility of making a larger loop from Ferrette or Vieux Ferrette.

- For families, a fun ride is offered via the "Track and Treasure" application on a smartphone.

Ferrette
  • Winkel village

    Winkel village

  • Winkel village

    Winkel village

The village of Winkel is above all known for housing the source of the Ill, the backbone of Alsace, which, after a journey of 217 km, flows into the Rhine north of Strasbourg.

The village backs onto the Glaserberg massif at an altitude of 575m and benefits from a rich and unspoiled natural setting. In winter, two snowshoe trails and Nordic routes are marked.

See:

- Saint Laurent Church the 18e century which contains two baroque side altars classified as Historic Monuments from the former abbey of Lucelle.

- the source of the Ill

- the Warth chapel : small sanctuary cut partly in the rock, erected at 14e century and linked to the tragic end of the knight Rodolphe de Warth

To do

- the path of the Moroccans : route to discover the works of the Maginaux line built before 1939. Download the guidebook.

- the Alley of Beeches : made up of an alignment to be remarkable. A 6 km circuit for 160m of difference in height and 2h 30 of walk from the parking lot of the quarry is marked.

- Lsnowshoe circuits and Ihe marked Nordic ski routes.

Shop
  • Street Art Altkirch

    Street Art Altkirch

  • Altkirch town hall

    Altkirch town hall

The city is home to Sundgauvien Museum and the Rhenish Center for Contemporary Art to discover all year round.

The Saint Morand Priory, Notre-Dame Church, the old city walls and its other medieval remains reflect the cultural and architectural diversity that can be observed there. As many guided tours for groups and individuals are available on request. You will also find at the Tourist Office a tourist map to discover the city for yourself.

Modern city with an original spirit, strong of a dynamic commercial fabric, grouped within the association Altkirch Traditions awarded with two gold panels, it also organizes numerous and varied cultural meetings such as: the Enchanted Forest in December the Fête de la Musique, Sound'Go Festival and street shows in summer, concerts and many other shows hosted by energetic local associations.

Free guided tours of the city are organized every summer and you can also discover Altkirch and its surroundings through short hikes.

A street art circuit allows you to discover the city differently! Brochure available at the Tourist Office.

Market days :

Thursday morning : from 7 a.m. to 13 p.m., large market throughout the city center

Saturday morning : from 7 a.m. to 12 p.m., small farmers market, place Xavier Jourdain

The Ste Catherine Fair : the last Thursday of November, big fair in the whole city

Altkirch
  • Saint Joseph's Oratory

    Saint Joseph's Oratory

Lutter, a small village in the Alsatian Jura, presents a remarkable group of houses built in the XNUMXth and early XNUMXth centuries, some of which are exceptional objects. The main interest of this architectural ensemble lies in its density, along a quiet street where it is pleasant to walk.

Lutter's houses are made of stone and have no half-timbering. They are massive and on several floors. Some are more like a stately home than a small farm.

They have been transformed over the centuries. But we can recognize certain details that do not deceive such as Renaissance mullion windows or often arched doors. Look up and observe the attic windows, they are chamfered, characteristic of this period.

A question mark for researchers: the half-spheres carved on the corner chaining of the houses.

Several of them still have a wooden gallery on the first floor.

You can continue your walk up the stream to enter the forest to the Saint Joseph's oratory.

Wrestle
  • City of Dannemarie

    City of Dannemarie

  • City of Dannemarie

    City of Dannemarie

Between the hills of the Vosges and the first foothills of the Jura, in the Belfort gap, there is a village nestled on the slopes of a hill in the Largue valley.
Dannemarie chief town of canton, plays a driving role and shines on the Porte d'Alsace with its dynamic trade and its multiple services to the population.
Danemarie
  • Hirtzbach village

    Hirtzbach village

  • Hirtzbach village

    Hirtzbach village

Typical Sundgauvian village, which has just added to its long list of distinctions the Prize of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries and the Interprofessional Office for Fruit, Vegetables and Horticulture

Hirtzbach is proud of its four flowers, awarded on a national and European scale for the quality of its flowers, it is a village where life is indisputably good.

Following the course of the stream (the Hirschbach), we discover beautiful half-timbered houses, as well as an alley of hundred-year-old lime trees. As you walk through Charles de Reinach Park, you can admire the last Sundgau glacier, wonderful vegetation and the Reinach Castle.

The Sainte-Afre chapel and the parish church are full of artistic and architectural remains including a painting by Gutzwiller, a fresco by Limido (in the church) and a pietà from the XNUMXth century (in the chapel).

Do not miss the 1st weekend of August The celebration of Nature, a big street party organized over two days which enlivens the whole village and attracts every summer some 10 people to Hirtzbach: exhibitions, craft stands, street entertainment, folk music and fireworks round off the festivities.
Hirtzbach
Hirsingue is part of the closed club of 11 Alsatian municipalities having obtained a 4th flower. This small town of 2700 inhabitants will charm you in particular by the rue du Cercle, the rue du Tilleul and the rue du Moulin which, all three, follow the small stream of Felbach where ducks are legion. These streets shaded by beautiful lime trees and decorated with beautiful half-timbered houses, are ideal for a bucolic stroll. The church built in 1774 preserves a painting of Saint Nicolas and the neighboring chapel hosts in particular the tombstone of Marie Anne de Montjoye, wife of the last Lord of Hirsingue who had to leave her castle to take refuge in Altkirch during the revolutionary troubles on the 29 July 1789. To explore these small streets, park in the parking lot of the last Sundgau flour mill still in operation. The town has also set up, in front of the sports complex, a small nature park for families with a play area.
Hirsingue

The flowery village of Friesen, in the Largue Valley, has preserved around fifty half-timbered buildings, the construction of which spanned from 1497 to 1878: corbelled houses, traditional farms, fountains, monoblock farms, short-timbered houses, forges… perform.

A guide, available at the Tourist Office, offers an easy walk through preserved and richly flowered streets to discover this unique heritage, including the oldest half-timbered house known in Alsace.

The clever geometry of the traditional Sundgauvian house made of half-timbering, the fruit of a construction technique developed over five centuries by the corporation of carpenters is revealed. The old farmhouses, adapted to modern life, have retained all their charm of yesteryear and the geraniums put the finishing touches on the table.

Friesen

The Sundgau on the Networks

Top of page